top of page

Homemade by Kristin

Crafts, Sewing, and Cake Pops

  • Writer's pictureKristin V. Howell

Firetruck Cake

My son wanted a firetruck cake for his birthday so I found a youtube video on how to make one. I was intimidated at first but then I was up for the challenge. The video definitely helped me understand the process. I had to borrow a pan from a friend so I could bake the 3 pieces at the same time. It was a lot of work but I was pretty proud of the finished product. I'm not sure if I'll make this again but I made sure to take pictures. My son was super excited for his homemade firetruck birthday cake so it was worth it!


This picture shows the 3 separate loaf pans of chocolate cake before the cake was iced and decorated. At this step I was definitely nervous and not sure I could make it.


The next step was to do a crumb coating. This was the first time I had heard of this term. I had to read a few blogs and watch a few youtube videos to learn about it.



The final product turned out surprisingly well. I had to search hard for those licorice wheels to be the fire hose and the gum drops to be the lights. The tires were Oreo cookies with a dot of icing.



I also found those adorable fire themed candles on Amazon - fire hydrant, boots, and dalmatian. My son loved his cake!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Pinterest
bottom of page